updated 5:52 AM UTC, Aug 22, 2017

By-Election Results 2017: BJP Wins 5 Of 10 Assembly Seats In By-Elections

  • Published in India

NEW DELHI: In by-elections held for 10 assembly seats in eight states, the BJP is in position to win six. It had held three of these seats and is gaining three from other parties, including Delhi's Rajouri Garden, where last time's winner Aam Aadmi Party has lost its deposit ahead of key civic elections. In Karnataka, the Congress has won both Nanjangud and Gundlupet, seats it held. In Jammu and Kashmir's Srinagar, where fresh elections were ordered in 38 polling booths after violence on Sunday, less than one per cent have turned up to vote.

Today's big winner the BJP, has already taken Bhoranj in Himachal Pradesh, a seat it had held. It also snatched Dholpur seat in Rajasthan from Mayawati's BSP. The ruling BJP asserted its hold in Madhya Pradesh retaining the Bandhavgarh assembly seat and heading to win Ater.

West Delhi's Rajouri Garden seat fell vacant early this year after AAP's legislator Jarnail Singh quit to contest the Punjab Assembly polls. A win has taken the BJP's tally from three to four in the Delhi assembly, dominated by AAP that had swept the 2015 elections.

The by-election was held only weeks before crucial civic elections in Delhi and the BJP will hold up a win today to assert that it has the support of Delhi's voters. For Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal's AAP it's more bad news after its poor showing in the Punjab and Goa assembly elections last month.

As the trends indicated big win for the BJP and a massive loss for the ruling AAP, Delhi' Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia earlier this morning said, "need to revisit people connect." The ruling Congress celebrated in Karnataka, retaining both the Nanjangud assembly seat and Gundulpet. The by-polls became a prestige battle for the Congress and the opposition BJP ahead of assembly polls next year. "We bow our heads and accept the decision of the people," said the BJP's BS Yeddyurappa, conceding defeat.

Nanjangud is in Chief Minister Siddaramaiah's home district of Mysuru and it is crucial for him to retain the seat. His close aide-turned-rival V Srinivas Prasad, who held the seat earlier, joined the BJP after he was dropped as minister and is now contesting as the BJP candidate.

  • Input: IANS