JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 130

US win FINA women water polo world league super final
Monday, 13 June 2016 13:23 Published in Other Sports

  • font size decrease font size increase font size
  • Print
  • Email
  • Be the first to comment!

Shanghai: Defending champions United States showed why they were the best of the best when they defeated Spain 13-9 to lift the trophy at the 2016 FINA women's water polo world league super final here, while Australia trounced hosts China 11-3 for the bronze medal.

Courtney Mathewson of the US was named the most valuable player, the best scorer went to Roser Tarrago of Spain while Australia's Lea Yanitsas was named the best goal-keeper on Sunday, reports Xinhua.

Both teams showed strong determination for the victory and consistence throughout the whole game. The Americans started with sharp goals with 3-2, 4-2, 3-3, 3-2 while Spain kept shooting all the time and tried to catch up.

"We were happy that we played a consistent final today. We were very efficient offensively. Our offense were acute but we still could be better on defense. We were happy with the victory," US head coach Adam Krikorian said.

In the bronze-medal game, Australia hit the first goal by Glenccora McGhie and never looked back, winning 10-3 (3-2, 5-1, 1-0, 1-0). China seemed rusty with mistakes on passes, shooting and defense.

"We played a game without winning desire and concentration, maybe because we were tired after 13 games in 14 days and we kept morning training sessions during these competition days. I don't like excuses but it was a day we did not play well. It happened as we did not shoot the balls at the right time, in right angle and positions," China's head coach Ricardo Azeveo said.

In the games of last four, Italy edged Russia 10-8 (5-3, 2-2, 1-1, 2-2) for fifth place, Canada trounced Brazil 12-6 (3-1, 3-0, 3-1, 3-4) for seventh place. 

FINA women's water polo world league super final was the highest-level Water Polo competition worldwide, and also the last international event before the Rio Olympic Games. Eight best teams qualified for the super final.

  • Input: IANS

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.